Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Wiring up RGB strip to controller
Hi everyone

I'm very new to all of this. Did my first display last year. 

I am looking to add approximately 25mtrs of RGB led strips to border my house for this year but I don't understand how to wire them up.

Would anyone be able to send me a link to a video that shows how to do this? At present I have an 8 channel mains controller but know I'll need more if I go ahead. Also how do I connect the 5m strips to eachother and will one power source run the whole.lot? 

Thanks.
For the normal RGB strip (non-addressable type where you control the colour of the hole strip), you need to use a DC08 or DC03 controller. These types of strips have 4 wires, generally the colours are as below, but always check the wire colour information that is provided with the strips:

Black Cable :Common +
Red Cable : Red -
Green Cable : Green -
Blue Cable : Blue -

To connect to a DC controller, you will need to use 3 channels, one to control the RED, one channel for the GREEN and one channel for the BLUE. In the Show Designer you configure these 3 channels as RGB-Red, RGB-Green and RGB-Blue (See the 'RGB Strip' Sample sequence in the Show Designer for an example of the setup).

The Common + (black) wire connects to any of the + outputs from the DC controller. The Red - cable goes to one of the - outputs (eg. Output 1 -), the Green - Cable goes to the next - output (e.g Output 2 -) and the Blue - to the next output (e.g. Output 3 -).

You can connect multiple strips together. The ends have solder points so you can solder wires to connect the next strip.  You just need to ensure you get a power supply capable of powering multiple strips. For multiple strips you may also need to upgrade the 5amp fuse the controller. The controller will handle more than 5 amps, but if drawing lots of amps through a controller only do so as part of a light show, and do not leave strips on constantly for long periods.